We are in the process of reorganizing the Town of Leesburg website. If you reached a "Page Not Found . . ." result by following a search engine link, please try your search again, using the search box below. We apologize for any inconvenience, but hope you will find our reorganized website easier to use.

About the Commission

The Thomas Balch Library Commission advises the Library Director on collection development and library policies. The Commission helps publicize the Thomas Balch Library and work with the Friends of the Thomas Balch Library to promote and support library programs and collections. The Commission sponsors the annual Loudoun History Awards, which are presented each November, and an Excellence in Historical Research at the Loudoun County Public Schools' annual Social Science Fair.


Commission Members

TBL 2018 Advisory Commission
Term Ends
James H. Hershman, Jr., Chair 2022
Donna Bohanon  2020
Mandy Kinne 2022
Martha Schonberger 2020
Mary Pellicano 2020
Tom Jewell 2022
Russ Woolard 2020
Kristen C. Umstattd, Board of Supervisors Rep TERM

Ron Campbell, Council Liason



Group Email Address:

Staff Liaison: Library Director Alexandra S. Gressitt accepts correspondence on behalf of the Commission.

2020 Commission Meeting Packets

Additional Thomas Balch Library Commission documents, including approved meeting minutes, are available for download here  .  For previous years' meeting packets and minutes, contact the Staff Liaison.